My Matatu Life – a poem

11 Nov

(Written recently to add a Kenyan flavour to my set on tuesday).

Part 1:

From Karen I walk to Twiga Hill Road

the giraffe hill that stretches long in the sun.

My vision mottled as tarmac heatwaves undulating slow

Maasai mother hips slow, as a new born angel sleeps

head close to Motherland’s heart, bom boom, bom boom

each step a pulse beat in time; heartbeat of Kenya.

Beneath a power line charger I wait on the dry earth,

bushes green about my shoulders and the sun is still sky high.

Matatu, matatu, where are thou, matatu? Speeding and tilted leftside,

the dusty arms and thin legs of the conductor flailing from its open door,

shillings flapping between ashy fingers and I tell him where I am heading.

I have learned: Never tell where you are going. They are always going your way,

no, look him in the eye good when you hear, ‘you can get a connection!’

Kenya National Museum welcomes me, snake garden peaceful

and the river runs through. Stone faces to the sun, silent voices rest,

and I eat my red bean stew and ugali lunch.

Again I am walking, my footsteps fast, bom boom, bom boom,

I accompany the whir and rush of highway traffic and

I cross like a Kenyan, walk quickly, but do not run. I have become

an expert jay-walker as I pass the sign that says, “Pedestrians

must not walk on flyover.”

Bad planning or rapid growth? Commerce off the charts?

Three million Kenyans in X square miles of land?

One hundred thousand cars on X length of tarmac’d roads?

Questions? Questions? Matatu, matatu, where art thou matatu?

After fifteen minutes of hopeful walking the Rahimtulla Tower in my sights,

a leaping matatu finds me. He tells me destination town, when I ask.

One space left at the back, bom boom, bom boom, my backside

hits the riders left and right. I pay my thirty bob, as the work day ends.

Part 2:

The matatu crawls up over the curb

and like a sea monster empties its belly.

My feet touch the ground destination ‘Thorn Tree Café,’

but the route is a mystery. Blindly amid human traffic,

the book in my hand is a shield and as sea monster island fades

quickly from mind, the diesel scent still lingers.

I side step a couple dressed for business,

a young child with neck ties hanging from fingers, a girl, a guy,

a man pushing an iron trolley slaloms through gridlocked traffic,

a woman carrys shopping bags, bom boom, bom boom her pace is measured.

The scent of nyamo choma hits me, barbecue savoury the spell broken

and I’m playing it safe before I’m lost in the melee, before this vortex

of humanity swallows me whole. I spy a taxi rank outside a hotel.

He says 300 and I walk away pretending the purpose in my strut,

moments before I turn back and offer 200Ksh for the fare.

We agree on 220 and I take the 100 yard taxi ride.

At the entrance to Sarova Stanley five star hotel, temporarily

halted I pass through the metal detector, bag checked (I beeped)

and inside the restaurant cafe the welcome is warm, unlike

London where they will look me over to guage my star status.

Seated on the terrace the traffic rushes, bom boom, bom boom,

just the otherside of the stain-glassed screen. The waitress smiles

and I’m offered the menu. It’s not too long before gladly

a sip of white wine. For the day at least,

I’m done with my matatu life.

Image

One Response to “My Matatu Life – a poem”

  1. warero 29 November, 2012 at 8:42 PM #

    Reblogged this on Javmode.

Share your thoughts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 579 other followers

